What Board Games Am I Backing?

BoardGameNerd
12 min readOct 22, 2021

These days, most of the board games I purchase come from crowdfunded projects on Kickstarter and Gamefound. I enjoy the feeling of being involved in the campaign and watching exciting projects evolve and eventually come to life!

The big problem in recent months (years?) has been the global pandemic. From factory shutdowns, city lockdowns, backed-up supply chains, customs red-tape, to a host of other problems, we were left with a global economy amidst tremendous upheaval and uncertainty.

One of the least important aspects of this is the delayed production and fulfillment of tabletop games, but, as this is a place where such things are discussed we will be the privileged lot that we are and discuss what crowdfunded games I’m waiting on. Without any further ado, here are the projects I backed and a brief look for those who are unfamiliar with many of these games.

Salt & Sail: A Game of Discovery during the Age of Sail

“Make discoveries as you fend off pirates and navigate through storms — exploration and adventure for 2–5 players.”

Let’s set our sails for adventure!

by Kazoodoo Games $30,838 raised 489 backers

Something about this game really speaks to me. I love the idea of moving my ships around on those finely crafted hexes. The art and theme resonate well, but they aren’t overdone. A game that appears to be a “filler+” and could fit well as a contrast from all of the table-hogging, heavy games in my collection.

Pledge Level: Salt & Sail Deluxe

Fulfillment Estimate: On the boat as I write this!

Campaign Trail: Second Ed. & Green Party Expansion

“The remarkably UNPOLITICAL asymmetrical political strategy game about American electoral politics for 1–8 players now has an expansion!”

Now with 4 playable parties!

by Grey Fox Games $124,087 raised 1,854 backers

I’m so delighter I stumbled across this diamond in the rough. The main mechanic in Campaign Trail is the adding/moving of electors in each state to attempt to secure the electoral points those states provide before the end of the game to claim the American Presidency. This area control element reminds me very much so of Twilight Struggle.

The theme works very well for me here. Each player (in 1–4 player count) is a presidential candidate for one of the game’s 4 political parties and has unique abilities based on the type of candidate which you selected at the beginning of the game. In a 5–8 player game, the second player on each team is the Vice-Presidential candidate but the play is not markedly second-tier for those players.

The board and deluxe components look fun and colorful so that one can easily evaluate what’s happening on the mainboard electoral map. The cards are thematic and provide a lot of interesting choices for the players to make on their turns. There are 2 “debates” that play out a bit like the board meetings in Kanban EV (an amazing game). Players must balance their campaign war chest and use their cards strategically to win the presidency.

Examples of the cards in Campaign Trail

There is also a “Dirty Politics” module of cards that add some “take that” which I’m eager to dive into.

Pledge Level: POTUS All-In

Fulfillment Date: Dec ‘21-Feb ‘22(?)

LOOP Life of Ordinary People

“A board game about Consumption, Environment, and Happiness. Work, Buy, Consume, Die…Can you break this LOOP?”

Simple yet thought-provoking filler?

by Blackbody Lab $40,992 raised 710 backers

For 1–6 players and recommended for ages 13+ this was a campaign which I just couldn’t withhold my support from. I have no idea if this game will even be good but I love the idea of it. The updates and the way that the developers presented the game were fun.

The game attempts to cleverly approach the problems in life caused by our consumer-based lifestyles. Players engage in a resource optimization card game about Consumerism the Environment, and Personal Happiness.

The game looks to join Salt & Sail in my filler+ game selections and I hope it sticks around long-term but I have my doubts.

The campaign was done with sound environmental safeguards. No plastic game components besides the token tray that was made from upcycled plastic folders collected from a local university after students had discarded them! LOOP is made from FSC-certified forest materials and made at an FSC-certified factory, which is locally sourced to reduce the carbon footprint and the game is printed with Soy Ink!

Pledge Level: Full Collection-Early Bird

Fulfillment Estimate: Dec ’21

Koi Garden-Harmonious gardening card game

“Create a harmonious pond by flourishing your garden and attracting new wildlife in this 1–4 player tile-laying game.”

Cute game!

by B&B Game Studio $29,263 raised 777 backers

“Wow, the BoardGameNerd must REALLY like small, indie fillers!” you must be thinking. There are some huge name, wallet crunching games in this article. Just be patient! = )

I backed Koi Garden because of its simple yet aesthetically pleasing look, the spot it would fit in my collection as a good game to bring when I travel, and the reasonable price point.

The play is simple and pleasant as you select from beautiful Land Tiles, orienting them as you please to build out your pond. You can gain Wildlife that has unique movement patterns that can score you victory points as they wander across your pond. This game is said to be a crowdfunding exclusive (no retail)
Pledge Level: Core game

Fulfillment Estimate: Jan ’22 (?)

Carnegie Deluxe Collector’s Edition

“An exciting strategic board game by Xavier Georges, with artwork by Ian O’Toole.”

A heavy Euro!

by Quined Games B.V. €473,081 raised 6,023 backers

Finally! A heavy, crunchy Euro!

If you read my article on Voidfall you know that I really gravitate toward games featuring the art of Ian O’Toole and this one is no exception. In Carnegie, I love how O’Toole has captured the feel of the period in his illustrations!

In Carnegie, players will recruit employees and expand their businesses by investing in real estate, producing goods, developing transport technology, and creating transport chains (RAILROAD ELEMENT!) across the United States.

This is an Action Selection game in which the player in 1st position of each round selects the action that all of the players must take. Of the 4 main actions, players can build new departments within their company and staff those departments with more workers to buff future actions.

Preproduction Components

The box, boards, and components are all looking top-notch quality and the Gametrayz insert looks perfect in the prototype photos released in recent updates.

Pledge Level: Carnegie Deluxe Ed.

Fulfillment Estimate: Jan ‘22(?)

Blue Collection

“A collection of 4 micro-games: One Card Dungeon, Insert Coin to Play, Cyberdoom Tower, and Short Circuit.”

Travel Games or Filler Fun?

by Little Rocket Games $19,353 raised 723 backers

On no! More light fillers! I have an excuse this time. These games really draw on the nostalgic element of the now trendy 8-bit art style from the video games of my childhood.

For me, One Card Dungeon looks like the one I’ll play the most as a little solo puzzle, but I imagine Insert Coin to Play will work really well with lighter gamers and can handle high player counts.

Can you run the Gauntlet?

Pledge Level: All-In-Early Bird

Fulfillment Estimate: Feb ‘22

ISS Vanguard

“…a 1–4 player co-operative game that will immerse you in an amazing adventure among the stars, as you lead the first human galactic exploration effort.”

Oh my!

by Awaken Realms $4,912,097 raised 28,962 backers

This is a giant of a game and was an extremely successful crowdfunding campaign(as Awaken Realms games always are). And to be fair, I haven’t actually backed it yet, but I am close to it. Just waiting for final details on gameplay, component, and sundrop options before the late pledge closes but I’m 75% to pledge for it.

This is a campaign-based game with a Planetary Exploration Phase and a Ship Phase. The core box is oozing value and many hours of gameplay. The minis look outstanding! This will likely be one of the most fun play experiences in my collection.

The Ship Phase!

Pledge Level: Dreadnaught Pledge (Gameplay All-In…probably?)

Fulfillment Estimate: March ‘22

Endless Winter — Paleoamericans

“A unique board game set in the ice age that combines Worker Placement, and Deck-Building in an innovative way.”

The Mico!

by Fantasia Games €767,172 raised 11,969 backers

Another great campaign and a game that may lay claim to the next set of “Game of the Year” awards. I am psyched for Endless Winter!

As someone with a degree in Anthropology and some experience on Archaeological digs in North America during my university days, this game really gives me a bunch of things I’m into. The theme shows off the resourcefulness and the skills of indigenous peoples, the mechanics are a special blend of things I really like, and the art and components…well they are on another level! The Mico has really outdone himself with this one!

Game Set-Up

Pledge Level: Chief All-In

Fulfillment Estimate: End of Q1 ‘22

Darwin’s Journey

“Retrace Darwin’s journey to the Galapagos in an exciting Worker Placement Euro game by Simone Luciani and Nestore Mangone.”

In all its glory!

This has been perhaps the most-hyped new worker placement game to hit crowdfunding in recent memory. Darwin’s Journey introduces an innovative “worker progression system” in which each worker must “study” to gain the skills with which to perform high-level actions.

The mainboard is a beautiful mess as we Euro gamers like it.

The components are anything but the standard fair with artistically crafted seals, coins, and museum tokens. This project unlocked 46 stretch goals including improved cardstock, thicker punchboards, Spot UV finish for the boxtop, aged wood-finish meeples, and many more goodies.

Some of the unlocked Stretch Goals!

Pledge Level: Collector’s Edition

Fulfillment Estimate: March ‘22

The Isle of Cats: Don’t Forget the Kittens!

“Return to the Isle of Cats in brand new boats and rescue the forgotten kittens and ancient beasts that were left behind.”

The big Expansion is Coming!

by Frank West £1,015,870 raised 12,133 backers

This is essentially a “more stuff” expansion with a ton of new content but still the same great Isle of Cats game. This has become a staple of our local gaming group for its ease to teach/learn, beautiful cat components, and fun gameplay.

The new expansion includes a Kittens + Beasts polyomino collection including a new Event Module to add variability to gameplay, the Boat Pack featuring 6 new and unique boat layouts, Kickstart Pack 2 &3 full of tons of extra goodies, 12 months of Isle of Cats the digital version, the Big Box, a complete wooden insert (that claims a 2 minute set-up time!!), and last but not least the new Explore and Draw with Kittens minigame.

Explore and Write? Yes, please.

Pledge Level: Explore and Draw with Kittens (Veteran 3)

Fulfillment Estimate: April ‘22

Etherfields

“…a Dream Crawler-you will dive into surreal and artistically crafted worlds and follow a one of a kind solo/co-op campaign of adventures for 1–5 players.”

A man can dream of the day this arrives, can’t he?

by Awaken Realms £3,974,362 raised 32,582 backers

The big one! I’ve been waiting seemingly forever on this one after foolishly choosing single-wave shipping (live and learn). I love lore about dreams and nightmares and the idea of a campaign based on people living through dreams over and over again and having no idea what’s going on just hits all the right buttons for me.

The art and minis are gorgeous. I mean, they are borderline the best-looking cards, minis, boards, etc that you will see in any game period. Sorry, I’m getting excited just typing about it. Like ISS Vanguard, the amount of content here is staggering, but I feel like this one really is one for me.

Gorgeous art on every card.

Pledge Level: Dream God (Collector’s All-In)

Fulfillment Estimate: March/April ‘22(?)

Night Market

“A Worker Placement game set in a Night Market where players are bringing in customers and creating signature dishes.”

A tasty game, no doubt.

by Talon Strikes Studios $75,832 raised 968 backers

I used to live in Taipei and evening strolls through the numerous local night markers snacking on delicious treats are still fond memories of mine. I love worker placement games and the theme grabbed me forcing me to take a closer look. Pack your stalls with specialty foods to attract the most customers in this tasty tabletop experience.

Pledge Level: Deluxe Pledge

Fulfillment Estimate: April ‘22

War Room 2nd Ed.

“A deluxe global WW2 board game for 1–6 players (team play).”

The big one!

by Nightingale Games $459,659 raised 3,309 backers

Now anyone who games with me would be very surprised if I brought a game like this to game night because they know I tend to shy away from games where you are out to destroy the other player, kingmaker, random combat outcomes, etc. but this one pulled me in. It feels like the type of game all war games aspire to be. Epic in size and scope, this beast of a game features teams each of which controls potentially multiple countries in the great battles of WW2. There are many interesting scenarios and the price was such a bargain I ended up pulling the trigger.

I really love the idea of secretly and simultaneously planning each turns strategy with my team.

Pledge Level: Core Game

Fulfillment Estimate: June ‘22

Wild: Serengeti

“Film wild animals in the Serengeti and direct your own inspiring wildlife documentary.”

WILD!

by Bad Comet $242,388 raised 4937 backers

This one is on the lighter side, but the meeples are so cute and I could see this making it to the table often as a go-to with many of the less serious gamers in our group. The campaign was pretty fun to be a part of with a really WILD comments section.

Pledge Level: Core Pledge

Fulfillment Estimate: July ‘22

Primal: The Awakening

“A fully cooperative deck crafting boss-battling board game, featuring card-driven tactical combat and large-scale miniatures.”

Let’s get ready to rumble!

by Reggis Games €2,040,335 raised 11,302 backers

I found myself totally uninterested in this game during the campaign but later took interest in the Monster Hunter World campaign and realized that Primal was a better version of that game (for me). Deckbuilding/crafting, boss-battling, multiplayer cooperative fighters choosing when and how to attack great monsters.

The cards and the minis are top of the line and a real draw to this game but I also think the AI system is cleverly created so that each monster that the players fight will feel unique.

Core box content!!!!!

Pledge Level: Gameplay All-In

Fulfillment Estimate: Late ‘22

HEL: The Last Saga

“Survive, explore, fight, and solve the mysteries of a hostile island in this narrative 1–4 player Viking survival horror board game.”

Welcome to HEL…the Last Saga, that is.

by Mythic Games $2,215,842 raised 17,757 backers

I might be biting off more than I can chew with this final grand-scale, epic narrative-based campaign game. What else can i say about HEL? Like many games I’ve backed, I like the theme and the lore, I love the minis and the detailed components, I love the art. I’m in! A simple man, I am. This is some creepy Viking lore, to say the least.

Pledge Level: Core box

Fulfillment Estimate: Late ‘22/early ‘23(?)

and finally Voidfall

In my last article, which you can read here titled “Why I backed Voidfall” I go into great depth on why Voidfall seems like it’s for me while explaining why it might not be for others.

Voidfall!

by Mindclash Games 1,464,053 raised 12,271 backers

Check out my article for click on the Voidfall link above for more info.

Pledge Level: Galactic Box

Fulfillment Estimate: Feb. ‘23

Wow! That was a long write-up. I hope it was useful. interesting for some of you. Follow or leave some claps or a comment if you enjoyed this article. And always be gaming!

--

--