Beeee Prepared!

BoardGameNerd
4 min readDec 6, 2023

A Review of the recent Stonemaier Games release Apiary.

It’s time for another board game review, and this is one I actually went out of my way to purchase. Well, I’m a Stonemaier Champion, and the price was really enticing. Anyway, when tidbits of information were being released about Apiary in the early days leading up to the preorder, I was certainly drawn in by the theme.

I love bees, and I’m into space. I had just recently finished Children of Time, too, which I feel had to have some sort of inspiration for the final space bugs theme. The art and components looked top-notch, as usual with any Jamey Stegmaier product, but there had been a lot of recent SMGs that I really had no interest in.

I ended up watching several playthrough videos that were not only spoken of highly but also got me much more interested in the game. A medium euro game that could finish in 60–90 minutes with such a nice look and easy-to-grasp ruleset had me tempted. The preorder price clinched the deal for me, and I decided to give it a try.

My first playthrough was a two-player session with my wife, and I was able to score very highly (130+ points) and got to the end of the Queen’s Favor track even after spending quite a lot of favor on my waggle dance for wax (and VP). We played with starter factions that didn’t give us much chance to lean into any sort of synergies besides placing the specific tile type dictated by our faction.

It was fun, and the playtime was fast, even with me teaching the game (without having ever played it).

My next play was a 3-player session where I again won pretty easily, but the scores were much lower. I had a faction that let me add +/- one whenever I placed a worker bee, and ended up using that to shorten the game by hibernating my bees quickly.

In the third game, I got second with a faction that starts with three seed cards. And my friends have all seemed to really enjoy their first play of Apiary.

The gorgeous components!

Dive into the Buzzing World of “Apiary”

At its core, “Apiary” is a captivating blend of strategy and thematic immersion, bringing to life the intricate world of evolved Space Bees through its innovative worker placement mechanics. The game is set in a vibrant apiary, where players assume the roles of hive managers striving to create the most flourishing bee colony.

Worker Bees and Resource Management

Each player begins with a set of worker bees, which are not just thematic but central to the gameplay. On your turn, you’ll deploy these worker bees to various locations on the board, each offering unique actions or resources. These locations represent different aspects of beekeeping, such as gathering pollen, breeding bees, or constructing hives. The strategic placement of your workers is key, as it determines the resources you collect and the actions you can perform.

The Dance of Strategy: Hive Building and Nectar Collection

One of the standout mechanisms in “Apiary” is the hive-building aspect. Players meticulously construct their hives, piece by piece, creating a spatial puzzle that requires foresight and planning. Each hive component contributes to your apiary’s aesthetics and provides specific benefits, like additional storage or bonus actions.

Resource collection is another critical element. Players must balance the need to gather Honey and Wax with the timing of the hibernation season, represented in the game’s turn structure. Wax, Pollen, Water, Fiber, and Honey collected at the right time can be more valuable than others, simulating the real-life intricacies of bee foraging and honey production.

Seasonal Changes and Dynamic Gameplay

“Apiary” also introduces a dynamic element with its seasonal change mechanism (hibernation and new tile reveals). This not only adds to the thematic depth but also ensures that no two games are the same, as players must adapt their strategies to the changing environment.

A Delicate Balance: Strategy and Accessibility

What makes “Apiary” stand out is its delicate balance between strategic depth and accessibility. While the game offers a rich and engaging experience, it’s designed to be approachable, ensuring that games typically conclude in under 90 minutes. This accessibility doesn’t sacrifice depth; players will find themselves immersed in a world where every decision matters, from worker placement to resource management.

Building a Hive!

Final Thoughts

While potentially unbalanced based on the numerous asymmetrical elements, I still think this game is a great addition to my collection, and I’m eager to play it again soon. For those who like games like Viticulture and other worker placement games, I would suggest giving this a go.

I rate it currently at an 8.0/10

That’s all for this review, but there’s still one more thing. I’d really appreciate it if you clicked the Follow button or left a comment below with your own experiences or questions about Apiary. Thanks for reading!

BoardGameNerd

--

--